Amanda Merkx

Send Request
Puerto Viejo De Limon, Costa Rica
Minimum Stay:
1 week minimum stay
We speak spanish, english and dutch


Volunteer at small, organic, sustainble family farm

This is the Deal

We are a small organic family farm focused on becoming self sufficient and sustainable by not only growing our own food, but also making our own soaps, building our housing with ecological resources and have as little of a carbon footprint as we can!
We focus on education wanting other people to be able to have an experience of living this lifestyle and also teaching others practical ways they can apply this to their own lives. We are young and have been working on this project for 2 years, so there is still a long way to go. And a lot of help needed! We are looking for volunteers willing to work hard and enjoy the south caribbean of Costa Rica. We would love to have people who have some experience working on farms because we are learning by our experiences here so any ideas or contributions are helpful.

Our volunteers work 5 days for 7 hours and then 3-4 hours on saturday. On top of this we ask for a contribution to pay for food, as we are not yet producing everything ourselves.

Short term Volunteers (Stay for one week – one month)

• Write blogs
• Animal care (chickens, goats and dogs)
• Help in the house (cleaning, cooking, etc.)
• General Maintenance
• Selling the products (on the market, etc.)
• Make cheese
• Take care of the garden
• Planting plants
• Milking the goats

Long term Volunteers (Stay at least one month)

• Write blogs
• Help in the house(cleaning, cooking, etc.)
• General Maintenance
• Helping to make the vagos place products (cheese, kombucha, kefir, tee, creams, etc.)
• Selling the products (on the market, etc.)
• Gather plants to make tea
• Farming (planting plants, look after the garden, etc.)
• Milking the goats
• Purpose alternative systems (Water system, etc.)

Volunteers will also work on certain projects like building or construction when that is happening on the farm.


On the farm there is one house for volunteers with a small kitchen and 3 bedrooms. Volunteers eat with the family everyday of the week expect sundays.
Soon we will also have tent platforms available for volunteers.

What Else

for more information, visit our website: my website

- Smokers allowed

- Internet Access

+ Have animals/pets