Missing

Domenic Padula

Send Request
Location:
Lower Burlington, Canada
Minimum Stay:
2 weeks
Languages:
English, French

Share

Come work, learn and have fun on a small organic farm

"good sense of humor, great spiritual conversation and loving life."

This is the Deal

Located next to the Cogmagun river, Moon Fire Farm is a small organic diverse family farm. We exclusively grow heirlom seed on 2 acres and also have 1 acres of fruit tree containing, peach, nectarine, plum, apricot and asian pear tree. We also raise heritage pigs on pasture, free range egg and meat chicken and goat. We sell directly by CSA basket and at the Halifax Seaport Market every Saturday. We also do value add product such as pickle, ferment, tomato sauce, jam, etc.

We ask 35 hours a week of work in exchange for room and board. For longer stay, we also offer a stipend. Work consist of garden work, orchard work, wood cutting, animal care, help with processing and selling at Market.

Meals are share daily with the family and are usually cook by Domenic, who has 10 years experience as a chef. We accomodate all diet, but we are omnivore. People with vegan diet will be ask to help as Domenic struggle with recipe in this type of cooking.

During your time off, you can enjoy road or trail biking (bike supply by the farm), canoe on the river or lake, fishing, trip to the city during week-end and other activity you want to come along with us.

Domenic, Kimm and Sebastain have been farming for over 6 years. Domenic is the one mostly responsible for the farm. Kimm develop and work in social programing with at risk youth on the farm and Sebastian at 9 years old keep us smiling all day long.

Welcome Skills: Gardening, sense of humor, Any gardening or building skills welcome!, General maintenance, Seriously interested in Sustainable Agriculture as a way of life, financial management and budgeting

Accomodation

Accomodation is a rustic cabin detached from the main house. Bathroom is shared so is the shower. The cabin is around 300 sq foot plus a loft. There is electricity and a fireplace and furniture.

We are located on a really quiet country road, 1 hour from Halifax.

What Else

We practice spirituality in the greater sense of the term, with a strong influence from native spirituality. We Are LGBTQ friendly and family friendly home. We are activist who love to stand up for what we believe and for the protection of mother nature.

+ Smokers allowed

+ Internet Access

+ Have animals/pets