Peter Van Velzen

Send Request
Tamborine, Australia
Minimum Stay:
2 weeks
English, a little French and German


Ironbark Grange

"Sustainable living, Great food and wine, Tennis"

This is the Deal

This is very much a cultural exchange (for us and for you) as you will be in our family home sharing our lifestyle.


Welcome Skills: Any gardening or building skills welcome!, Good Sense of Humor, Cooking, Tennis, Massage


If you love wildlife, the outdoors, great views and good food, send us an email. PLEASE CHECK OUT OUR WEB SITE at "my website", they include some videos about us.

We prefer our helpers to stay 2 weeks or more. Work outside is a major part of what we do so expect to be outside on a rural property as part of the experience.

We are also able to provide Working Holiday 2nd Year VISA EXTENSION eligible work for your visa extension application.

The property is located 60km South of Brisbane and 20km West of the Gold Coast on the upper North slope of Mt Tamborine, 320m above sea level. We are surrounded by National Parks and abundant wildlife. The property is 8.35Ha with a sub-tropical climate and has great country views to the North up to 120km on a clear day.

We also have a tennis court (I will always give preference to tennis players who love to cook and eat great food), an outdoor cobb pizza oven, chooks/geese, two dalmatian dogs, a vegetable garden and about 300 fruit trees.

The design of the property has been along Permaculture principles. This includes rainwater collection, composting waste disposal, integration of animals and gardens, integrated pest management and the use of limited chemicals is done in a sustainable manner.

The house is designed and built by ourselves. It is large and modern and has been constructed using high mass walls and floors, good insulation in the roof, walls and double glazing throughout. Careful attention has been paid to window shading to minimise solar gain in summer and allow some heating in Winter. Hot water is provided by an evacuated glass tube solar array and we have a 3kW solar grid tied electricity collector.

We have had about 500 working guests on the property and the family has enjoyed the cultural exchange of food and ideas. We ask our guest helpers to work 6 days a week for 5-6 hours a day. The work is varied and includes things such as: construction work, wood working, harvesting, weeding, brush cutting, painting, planting, cleaning and cooking. We usually work early in the morning and late in the afternoon to avoid the hottest part of the day.

We transport our helpers on their day off to Tamborine mountain (a major tourist attraction) or the nearest transport centre so that they can explore the area. Wireless and hard wire internet is made available to all our helpers.

We pick up our helpers from the Beenleigh Bus Transit Centre, under the big roof of the centre. This is in Beenleigh, approximately 25km South of Brisbane and is next to the Beenleigh Train station.

We get a lot of requests from helpers to come to our property and only respond to helpers we need!

If you want to be considered, please include a reasonable amount of detail about yourself and your interests (skills are not that important, but passions are!) and make sure you include photos. We put a lot of information about ourselves on line and we expect a similar courtesy if not on line then in your email to us. Initial contact should be through the web site. No phone calls first up please.

We love lamb roasts, cuisine from different lands and good wine. Come and share the experience with us.

What Else

Helpers are integrated into the family home and are expected to interact with the family. We have a lot of experience with over 500 helpers most of which have had a great time. Check out our web site at my website. No vegetarians or smokers please as you will be asked to leave.

- Smokers allowed

+ Internet Access

+ Have animals/pets