Whmst2jadyc7xzl7dfgjcg

Macalla Farm

Send Request
Location:
Near Westport, Ireland
Minimum Stay:
2 weeks, but only 1 week for skilled workers (carpenter, gardener)
Languages:
English and French

Share

Organic farm and yoga centre on an offshore island

"Growing"

This is the Deal

240 acres farm (some of it planted with trees) on an island off the West coast of Ireland. We have ducks, sheep and horses, as well as the usual cats and dogs. We grow most of our vegetables and fruit in our gardens and polytunnels and in the spring and summer, we produce yoghurt and cheese from sheep's milk. We also run a yoga and meditation retreat centre and training courses in vegetarian cooking, natural horsemanship and in various aspects of sustainable living.
We are looking for people to help us with gardening, farm work, house maintenance, ongoing building projects, cleaning, cooking and the general running of the farm and retreat centre. Non smokers only, preferably people with an active interest in organic food production, self sufficiency, natural horsemanship or sustainable living. An interest in yoga or meditation would also be an advantage, as this is an important part of life at Macalla farm. No teenagers. About 30 hours work / week, most of it outdoor, with one or two days off / week.
We offer in exchange comfortable accommodation, delicious organic vegetarian food, occasional yoga instruction, and this very special island experience. Horse riding is possible for experienced riders but not for beginners.

Welcome Skills: Any gardening or building skills welcome!

Accomodation

Accommodation is in a comfortable house shared with other helpers. If you come on your own, you will usually be allocated a single room, although you sometimes might have to share a room with one or two other helper when we have guests. There's plenty of time to read (helpers can borrow books from our large library), write, or explore the island, but note that we don't have TV. There's limited Internet access.
If you are interested in our place, please write with details of your relevant experience, the reasons why you would like to come, and the dates you would be available. If you can, also send us a photo (or a link to one on the Internet), as we like to know what prospective helper look like :)

What Else

Non smokers only
Our place is strictly vegetarian
We are on a small offshore island so access is difficult.
If you need an active night life, look somewhere else.

- Smokers allowed

+ Internet Access

+ Have animals/pets